24. March 2023

REQUIEM | MANOLITA CHEN

Beijing Dance Theater (China)

Choreography: Yuanyuan Wang / Marcos Morau
Music: W. A. Mozart (Requiem d-minor, KV 626) / Spanish Flamenco-Music
(along with Ravel's BOLÉRO)

14 Dancers

Dates & Tickets

The Latin American writer Hector Tizón describes life as a long walk around a house. At times you must go far away from your home in order to know what is your own. Going far away and so, to come to know yourself anew, is also the motto of the Chinese BEIJING DANCE THEATER and its director Yuanyuan Wang. Wang  combines West European music with traditional elements of Chinese culture. It is no longer unusual for Westerners to consider the Far East, but the opposite, how Asians consider Europe is also quite interesting. Marcos Morau, Artistic Director of the Spanish dance company La Veronal, accepted an invitation to go to Beijing and from there, he looked back to his homeland, the homeland of Flamenco.

In REQUIEM, the first piece on the program, Yuanyuan Wang tackles Mozart’s work of the same name. The story of its composition and the quality of its posthumous completion have long been an object of discussion. Although only about two thirds of the piece stemmed from Mozart’s hand, it remains one of his most beloved and highly appreciated works. Mozart died during the composition and Joseph Eybler was asked to complete the work and Mozart’s pupil Franz Xaver Süssmayr actually carried out the task. The commissioning of the piece and its coinciding with Mozart’s death have led to much legendary speculation about the circumstances surrounding its origin.

"Religion entertains fine thoughts about the Garden of Eden, but, in fact, in the name of religion, wars are waged and people, killed. Angels and demons dance together. In this vein, good and evil, beauty and ugliness are inseparable. Humanity has long sought a spiritual place, where the soul can come to peace. Without this, we are lost in our physicality. We must learn to understand where and how our spirituality originated," to quote Yuanyuan Wang. "Traditions can be too big and become a hindrance. We must act as if we were foreigners in our own land. Seen from up close everything seems so ordinary. From a distance we can fall in love again." That is how the world-renowned choreographer Marcos Morau describes the intension of his piece MANOLITA, which he created for China’s best known contemporary tanztheater ensemble. The Circus-Theater founded in 1950 by Chen Tse-Ping and Manolita Chen was a Spanish enterprise with 50 international performers that for forty years toured the country combining circus and vaudeville acts.

Marcos Morau, born in Spain, studied choreography at the Conservatorio Superior de Danza in his native Valencia, at the Institut del Teatre in Barcelona and at Movement Research in New York. He also has a master’s degree in theater theory. He does not limit his work to the art form dance, but in his creative process, makes use of other elements from photography and theater. Without ever having been a dancer himself, Morau founded in 2005 his own company La Veronal, in which he put together people coming from different artistic genres: dance, film, photography and literature.

The essence of his creativity lies in interdisciplinarity. He is interested in developing his own narrative language and in investigating different forms and means of expression. In 2013 he received Spain’s National Dance Reward. He also won a Sebastià Gasch Award, an important prize from Barcelona promoting art and design. His pieces have also received awards in international choreography competitions, for example in Hanover, Copenhagen and Madrid. He has worked with renowned dance companies around the world such as Compañía Nacional de Danza in Spanien, Scapino Ballet Rotterdam, GöteborgOperans Danskompani, Ballet de Lorraine, Ballet du Rhin, Carte Blanche in Norwegen, the Royal Danish Ballet in Copenhagen and the Korean Contemporary National Dance Company in Seoul.

Yuanyuan Wang is one of the leading choreographers in China. She was born and grew up in Beijing and studied dance at the Beijing Dance Academy, where she later was also a teacher and a tutor. At that time, she also won as a dancer and choreographer rewards at international competitions in Shanghai, Paris, Seoul, and Moscow. Between 2000 and 2002 she studied at the California Institute of Arts School of Dance in Los Angeles and received a Master of Fine Arts Degree there.

She was largely responsible with others for the development of modern dance in China. In 1998, she became House Choreographer at the National Ballet of China. In the following year, her piece BUTTERFLY LOVER had its premiere in the Great Hall of the People celebrating the 40th Anniversary of the National Ballet as well as a Chinese version of the NUTCRACKER. In 2003, she was invited to choreograph a piece for the New City Ballet. She also choreographed pieces for Chinese film directors including a ballet version of Raise the Red Lantern for the director Zhang Yimou and the dance sequences for composer Tan Dun’s The Banquet, which was directed by Feng Xiaogang. She also had the honor of choreographing for the opening ceremony of the 2008 Beijing Olympics. Her work has been shown around the world in the USA, Russia, Japan, France, Bulgaria, Denmark, Singapore, and Australia.

In 2008 Yuanyuan Wang founded the BEIJING DANCE THEATER together with the lighting designer Han Jiang and the stage designer Tan Shaoyuan. The company has 14 dancers, all of whom have been trained in classical ballet. The Beijing Dance Theater is the first Chinese company to fuse classical ballet with modern dance. In May 2011, the Beijing Dance Theater performed HAZE at Bonn’s Opera House.

Show more

Dates and Tickets

24. März 2023

REQUIEM | MANOLITA CHEN

Beijing Dance Theater (China)

Choreografie: Yuanyuan Wang / Marcos Morau
Musik: W. A. Mozart (Requiem d-Moll, KV 626) / spanische Flamenco-Musik
(u.a. unter Verwendung von Ravels BOLÉRO)

14 Tänzerinnen und Tänzer

Termine & Karten

Der lateinamerikanische Schriftsteller Hector Tizón beschreibt das Leben als einen langen Spaziergang ums eigene Haus. Manchmal muss man sich weit von der Heimat entfernen, um das Eigene zu erkennen. Sich in die Ferne zu begeben und so sich neu zu entdecken, ist auch das Motto des chinesischen BEIJING DANCE THEATER und seiner Direktorin Yuanyuan Wang. Sie ist bekannt dafür, westeuropäische Musik und traditionelle Elemente der chinesischen Kultur miteinander zu verbinden. Der Blick auf Fernost ist für die westliche Kultur nicht mehr ganz ungewohnt. Der umgekehrte Blick - von Asien nach Europa -aber ist nicht minder spannend. Marcos Morau, künstlerischer Leiter der spanischen Compagnie La Veronal, hat die Einladung nach Beijing angenommen und von dort auf seine Heimat, die Heimat des Flamencos, geschaut.

Im REQUIEM, dem ersten Teil des Abends, beschäftigt sich Yuanyuan Wang mit Mozarts gleichnamigem Werk.  Die Entstehungsgeschichte und Qualität der nachträglichen Ergänzungen werden seit langem heftig diskutiert. Obwohl die Komposition nur zu etwa zwei Dritteln tatsächlich von Mozart selbst stammt, ist es eines seiner beliebtesten und am höchsten eingeschätzten Werke. Mozart starb während der Arbeit. Der Komponist Joseph Eybler und Mozarts Schüler Franz Xaver Süßmayr führten sie zu Ende. Kompositionsauftrag und der zeitliche Zusammenhang mit Mozarts frühem Tod haben eine üppige Mythenbildung angeregt.

"Religion pflegt einerseits den schönen Gedanken an den Garten Eden, andererseits aber werden im Namen der Religion Kriege geführt und Menschen getötet. Engel und Dämonen tanzen miteinander, so wie Gut und Böse ebenso wie Schönheit und Hässlichkeit nicht auseinanderzuhalten sind. Die Menschheit sucht seit Langem nach einem spirituellen Platz, um die Seelen ruhen zu lassen. Ohne dies sind wir in der Körperlichkeit verloren. Wir sollten wieder lernen zu verstehen, wo und wie unsere geistige Führung entsteht", so Yuanyuan Wang. "Traditionen können zu groß und damit hinderlich sein. Wir müssen uns wie Fremde ins eigene Land werfen. Aus der Nähe sieht alles so gewöhnlich aus. Aus der Ferne können wir uns neu verlieben", so beschreibt der in aller Welt gefragte Choreograf Marcos Morau die Intension seiner Kreation MANOLITA CHEN, die er für Chinas bekanntestes zeitgenössisches Tanztheater geschaffen hat. Das von Chen Tse-Ping und Manolita Chen im Jahre 1950 gegründete und reisende chinesische Zirkustheater war ein spanisches Unternehmen mit 50 internationalen Künstlern, das Zirkus mit Varieté verband und von 1950 an 40 Jahre durch die Lande zog.

Marcos Morau, geboren in Spanien, studierte Choreografie am Conservatorio Superior de Danza in seiner Heimatstadt Valencia, am Institut del Teatre in Barcelona und am Movement Research in New York. Zudem besitzt er einen Masterabschluss in Theatertheorie. Er beschränkt sich in seinen Kreationen nicht auf die Kunstform Tanz, sondern setzt in seinen Arbeitsprozessen auf weitere Disziplinen wie Fotografie und Theater. Ohne jemals selbst Tänzer gewesen zu sein, gründete Morau 2005 seine eigene Companie La Veronal, deren Mitglieder aus verschiedenen Kunstsparten stammen: Tanz, Film, Fotografie und Literatur.

Der Kern seines Schaffens liegt in der Interdisziplinarität. Sein Interesse liegt in der Entwicklung einer eigenen Erzählsprache und der Erforschung unterschiedlicher Ausdrucksformen und –mittel. 2013 erhielt er den National Dance Award, der ihm vom spanischen Amt für Kultur verliehen wurde. Außerdem ist er Preisträger des Sebastià Gasch Awards, ein wichtiger Preis der FAD – Foundation for Arts and Design. Seine Kreationen haben ihm auch bei internationalen Choreografiewettbewerben Auszeichnungen eingebracht, beispielsweise in Hannover, Kopenhagen und Madrid. Er arbeitete für renommierte Compagnien weltweit wie die Compañía Nacional de Danza in Spanien, Scapino Ballet Rotterdam, GöteborgOperans Danskompani, Ballet de Lorraine, Ballet du Rhin, Carte Blanche in Norwegen, das Royal Danish Ballet in Kopenhagen oder die Korean Contemporary National Dance Company in Seoul.

Yuanyuan Wang ist eine der führenden Choreografinnen in China. Geboren und aufgewachsen in Peking studierte sie Choreografie an der Beijing Dance Academy, an der sie später als Lehrerin und Tutorin arbeitete. Gleichzeitig gewann sie als Tänzerin und Choreografin hohe Auszeichnungen bei internationalen Wettbewerben in Shanghai, Paris, Seoul und Moskau. Von 2000 bis 2002 absolvierte sie ihren Master of Fine Arts (MFA) am California Institute of Arts (Cal Arts) School of Dance in Los Angeles.

Die Entwicklung des modernen Tanzes in China hat Wang federführend mitgestaltet. Im Jahre 1998 wurde sie Hauschoreografin für das National Ballet of China. Im folgenden Jahr wurde ihr Werk BUTTERFLY LOVER in der Halle des Volkes für den 40. Jahrestag des National Ballets sowie eine chinesische Version des NUSSKNACKER uraufgeführt. 2003 wurde sie als Gastchoreografin des New York City Ballets eingeladen. Sie hat wichtige Werke für chinesische Regisseure choreografiert, einschließlich einer Ballettversion von Raise the Red Lantern für den Regisseur Zhang Yunou und die Tanzsequenzen für Tan Dun's The Banquet (eine chinesische Adaption von Hamlet) unter der Regie von Feng Xiaogang. Außerdem hatte sie die Ehre für die Olympische Eröffnungsfeier in Beijing 2008 zu choreografieren. Ihre Arbeiten werden rund um den Globus in den Vereinigten Staaten, Russland, Japan, Frankreich, Bulgarien, Dänemark, Singapur und Australien gezeigt.

Im Jahr 2008 gründete Yuanyuan Wang das BEIJING DANCE THEATER in Zusammenarbeit mit dem Lichtdesigner Han Jiang und dem Bühnendesigner Tan Shaoyuan. Die Compagnie umfasst 14 Tänzerinnen und Tänzer, die alle eine Tanzausbildung im klassischen Ballett haben. Das Beijing Dance Theater ist die erste chinesische Compagnie, die klassisches Ballett mit Modern Dance verschmilzt. Schon im Mai 2011 gastierte das Beijing Dance Theater mit HAZE im Bonner Opernhaus.

Show more