From 2. October 2020

La Calisto

By Francesco Cavalli (1602 – 1676)

Dramma per musica in three Acts and a Prologue
Libretto by Giovanni Faustini

- In Italian with German and English surtitles -

Premiere 02.10.
Dates & Tickets

In a way, one of most successful operas from the earlier period of Baroque has two lives: The first one ended with its first performance at the Venician Teatro Sant’ Apollinare in the year 1651 and the second one, which still continues today, began at the Glyndebourne Festival on 26 May 1970, where the work was conducted by Raymond Leppard, who also developed the performance version. That was the point when Francesco Cavalli’s LA CALISTO truly took to the great stages of the world.

Based on the second book of Ovid’s Metamorphoses, the opera tells the story of the wood nymph Calisto who belongs to the entourage of Diana, goddess of the hunt. Jupiter approaches Calisto in the guise of Diana, and with rather transparent intentions. His jealous wife Juno transforms the girl into a bear, which is in turn made immortal by the repentant father of the gods, who turns the bear into the heavenly constellation of Ursa Major.

Today, performances of Cavalli’s far-too-late success mostly avail themselves of the comparatively large-scale orchestra version created by Raymond Leppard for the 1970 performance. As confirmed both by the voices and by historical bills from copyists and musicians, at its premiere in 1651, the opera was accompanied by no more than six musicians – an orchestration which it might be particularly appropriate to remember today. LA CALISTO in its original version and thus featuring its original sound is very rare at present, and it promises to be a highly authentic experience.

Show more

Cast

L'Eternitá / Pane  Susanne Blattert
La Natura / Diana / Giove in Diana  Charlotte Quadt
Il Destino / Giunone  Marie Heeschen
Giove  Tobias Schabel (Termine)
Martin Tzonev (Termine)
Endimione  Benno Schachtner (Termine)
Terry Wey (Termine)
Satirino / Erste Furie  Ava Gesell
Linfea / Zweite Furie  Kieran Carrel
Silvano  Martin Tzonev (Termine)
Tobias Schabel (Termine)
Orchester  Beethoven Orchester Bonn
Musikalische Leitung  Hermes Helfricht
Inszenierung  Jens Kerbel
Bühne und Video  Momme Hinrichs (fettFilm)
fettFilm (Torge Møller und Momme Hinrichs)
Licht  Max Karbe
Dramaturgie  Constantin Mende
Regieassistenz und Abendspielleitung  Frederik Werth
Studienleitung  Pauli Jämsä
Korrepetition  Pauli Jämsä
Miho Mach
Bühnenbildassistenz  Mara Schönborn
Kostümassistenz  Marina Rosenstein
Inspizienz  Tilla Foljanty
Übertitel  Julia Kluxen-Ayissi
Andreas Schütte
Wolfram Kastorp
Show more

Dates and Tickets

Ab 2. Oktober 2020

La Calisto

von Francesco Cavalli (1602 – 1676)

Dramma per musica in drei Akten und einem Prolog
Libretto von Giovanni Faustini

- In italienischer Sprache mit deutschen und englischen Übertiteln -

Premiere 02.10.
Termine & Karten

Eine der erfolgreichsten Opern des früheren Barock hatte gewissermaßen zwei Leben; Das erste endete quasi mit der Uraufführung im Jahre 1651 Am Teatro San Apollinare in Venedig, das zweite, bis heute andauernde, begann am 26. Mai 1970 beim Glyndebourne Festival in der Aufführungsfassung und unter der musikalischen Leitung von Raymond Leppard: Erst damit erreichte Francesco Cavallis LA CALISTO die Bühnen der Welt.

Basierend auf dem zweiten Buch von Ovids Metamorphosen erzählt die Oper die Geschichte der zum Gefolge der Jagdgöttin Diana gehörenden Waldnymphe Calisto, der Jupiter in Gestalt der Diana und mit durchschaubarer Absicht sich nähert, worauf dessen eifersüchtige Ehefrau Juno das Mädchen in einen Bären verwandelt, dem wiederum der reumütige Göttervater mit der Verwandlung in den Großen Bären am nächtlichen Sternenhimmel zur Unsterblichkeit verhilft.

Heutige Aufführungen von Cavallis allzu spätem Erfolgsstück bedienen sich zumeist der vergleichsweise groß instrumentierten Aufführungsfassung, die Raymond Leppard für die Aufführung von 1970 selbst erstellt hatte. Bei der Uraufführung, sowohl die Stimmen als auch Kopisten- und Musikerrechnungen von 1651 bestätigen das, war die Oper von lediglich sechs Musikern begleitet worden – eine Besetzung, derer sich zu entsinnen derzeit besonders geboten erscheint. LA CALISTO in der nurmehr seltenst gespielten Version im klanglichen Originalgewand verspricht damit ein besonders authentisches Erlebnis zu werden.

Show more

Besetzung

L'Eternitá / Pane  Susanne Blattert
La Natura / Diana / Giove in Diana  Charlotte Quadt
Il Destino / Giunone  Marie Heeschen
Giove  Tobias Schabel (Termine)
Martin Tzonev (Termine)
Endimione  Benno Schachtner (Termine)
Terry Wey (Termine)
Satirino / Erste Furie  Ava Gesell
Linfea / Zweite Furie  Kieran Carrel
Silvano  Martin Tzonev (Termine)
Tobias Schabel (Termine)
Orchester  Beethoven Orchester Bonn
Musikalische Leitung  Hermes Helfricht
Inszenierung  Jens Kerbel
Bühne und Video  Momme Hinrichs (fettFilm)
fettFilm (Torge Møller und Momme Hinrichs)
Licht  Max Karbe
Dramaturgie  Constantin Mende
Regieassistenz und Abendspielleitung  Frederik Werth
Studienleitung  Pauli Jämsä
Korrepetition  Pauli Jämsä
Miho Mach
Bühnenbildassistenz  Mara Schönborn
Kostümassistenz  Marina Rosenstein
Inspizienz  Tilla Foljanty
Übertitel  Julia Kluxen-Ayissi
Andreas Schütte
Wolfram Kastorp
Show more

Termine und Karten