13. June 2023

IT IS DANSA!

TWENTY EIGHT THOUSAND WAVES / THE PROM / LO QUE NO SE VE / KAASH

It Dansa (Spain)

Choreography: Cayetano Soto / Lorena Nogal / Gustavo Ramírez Sansano / Akram Khaan

14 Dancers

Dates & Tickets

Highly talented young dancers in a Spanish ensemble storm the stages of Europe and perform with impetuous youthful verve the work of famous choreographers. The pieces performed reflect the high standards and the special qualities of the young dancers. IT DANSA comes from Barcelona and the company’s director is Catherine Allard, a former dancer with the Nederlands Dans Theater. The program, in four parts, is a colorful mixture of swing and rhythm. For people who are curious, who want to discover the many facets of dance, IT DANSA is a perfect deal!

The first piece is TWENTY EIGHT THOUSAND WAVES by the Spanish choreographer Cayetano Soto – a fascinating and moving piece. The title is taken from a picture of an oil drilling rig in the middle of the ocean whose pylons are battered by waves, no less than 28000 times a day. According to the magazine Dance Europa the Spanish choreographer Cayetano Soto is a living voice in the world of contemporary ballet with an abundance of originality. His pieces have been performed by, among others, the Stuttgart Ballet, the Nederlands Dans Theater, the Hessian State Theater, the Gauthier Dance Company und the Royal Ballet of Flanders. He has worked with companies like BMJ Montréal, the Perm Opera and Ballet Theatre, the Ballet Hispanico, the Dortmund Ballet and the Northwest Dance Project in Portland, USA. Cayetano has won prizes at numerous dance competitions.

THE PROM by Lorena Nogal is as youthful and full of life as the dance company itself – a colorful and sympathetic loony ballet theater piece, which being somewhat over the top matches the young age of the dancers. Between party fervor, showing off, and first flirtations, the teenagers wind up in situations which make their fragile self-consciousnesses waver. Lorena Nogal comes from Barcelona and is a Catalan dancer and choreographer. She has been working since 2008 as part of the artistic team at Marcos Morau’s company La Veronal. She is also responsible for the production Manolita Chen that the Beijing Dance Theater will bring in March 2022 to the Opera House in Bonn.

LO QUE NO SE VE (What is not visible) tells of the emotions that well up when people, who love each other or are important to each other, are physically distant. Gustavo Ramirez Sansano, born in 1978 in San Fulgencio, Spain, was from 2009 to 2013 the head of the Luna Negra Dance Theater in Chicago, USA. He now works as a freelancing choreographer. He received numerous awards for his choreography. His pieces are performed by well-known dance companies, among others, the Nederlands Dans Theater, the Compania Nacional de Danza, the Hubbard Street Dance Company in Chicago, the Lucerne Dance Theater, Ballet BC, the Hamburg Ballet, the Atlanta Ballet, the Ballet Hispánico und the Luna Negra Dance Theater.

Akram Khan’s KAASH is a beautiful, action-packed piece that brilliantly combines Indian and contemporary dance. The dancers fill the room with long lunging steps, quick spinning turns and wide swinging skirts. Each single finger, arm or head movement evokes a mythological picture, which by means of contemporary dance elements bring us back to the present day. KAASH beguiles us with its perfect fusion of classical Karthak and contemporary dance.

Akram Khan was born in London, the son of immigrants from Bangladesh. At the center of his work is the attempt to bridge contemporary dance with the classical Indian dance form Kathak. His artistic focus is on structural and mathematical elements common to both dance styles. He calls the new language of movement that he developed from these two styles contemporary Kathak. Khan is one of the most celebrated and renowned artists of our times. In the past two decades he has put together a body of work, that has made a significant contribution to the art scene in Great Britain and abroad.

www.institutdelteatre.cat/

Show more

Dates and Tickets

13. Juni 2023

IT IS DANSA!

TWENTY EIGHT THOUSAND WAVES / THE PROM / LO QUE NO SE VE / KAASH

It Dansa (Spanien)

Choreografie: Cayetano Soto / Lorena Nogal / Gustavo Ramírez Sansano / Akram Khaan

14 Tänzerinnen und Tänzer

Termine & Karten

Hochbegabte junge Tänzerinnen und Tänzer zu einem spanischen Ensemble versammelt stürmen die Bühnen Europas und führen mit ungestümer Freude Werke berühmter Choreografen auf. Die Einstudierungen spiegeln den hohen Standard und die künstlerischen Qualitäten der jungen Tänzerinnen und Tänzer wieder. Geleitet wird IT DANSA aus Barcelona von der Belgierin Catherine Allard, einer ehemaligen Tänzerin des Nederlands Dans Theater. Eine bunte Mischung voller Schwung und Rhythmus bietet das vierteilige Programm. Für Neugierige, die den Tanz in seiner Vielseitigkeit (neu) für sich entdecken wollen, liefert IT DANSA ein perfektes Paket!

Den Anfang macht TWENTY EIGHT THOUSAND WAVES des spanischen Choreographen Cayetano Soto – faszinierend und aufwühlend zugleich. Der Titel ist an das Bild einer Ölbohrinsel angelehnt, welche den Wellen des Ozeans ausgeliefert ist, die nicht weniger als 28000-mal pro Tag gegen die Pfeiler schlagen. Der spanische Choreograf Cayetano Soto ist laut Dance Europe eine lebendige Stimme im zeitgenössischen Ballett mit einer Fülle an Originalität. Seine Stücke wurden u.a. vom Stuttgarter Ballett, dem Nederlands Dans Theater, dem Hessischen Staatsballett, der Gauthier Dance Company und dem Royal Ballet of Flanders aufgeführt. Er arbeitete mit Compagnien wie BJM Montréal, dem Perm Opera and Ballet Theatre, dem Ballet Hispanico, dem Dortmund Ballett und Northwest Dance Project in Portland. Cayetano Soto ist Preisträger zahlreicher Wettbewerbe.

THE PROM von Lorena Nogal ist so jung und spritzig wie die Compagnie selbst - ein buntes und sympathisch durchgeknalltes Tanztheaterstück, das sich in seiner Überdrehtheit das jugendliche Alter der Tänzerinnen und Tänzer grandios zunutze macht. Zwischen Partyrausch, Imponiergehabe und ersten Flirts geraten die Teenager immer wieder in Situationen, die ihr fragiles Selbstbewusstsein arg ins Wanken bringen. Lorena Nogal, in Barcelona geboren, ist eine katalanische Tänzerin und Choreografin. Seit 2008 arbeitet sie als Teil des künstlerischen Teams der Compagnie La Veronal von Marcos Morau. Auch die Produktion Manolita Chen des Beijing Dance Theaters – im März 2022 im Bonner Opernhaus zu Gast – hat sie maßgeblich mitgestaltet.

LO QUE NO SE VE (Was nicht zu sehen ist) erzählt von den Emotionen, die Distanz mit sich bringt, von den physischen Distanzen zwischen Menschen, die sich wichtig sind und sich lieben. Gustavo Ramírez Sansano, geb. 1978 in San Fulgencio/Spanien, leitete von 2009-2013 das Luna Negra Dance Theater in Chicago. Zurzeit arbeitet er als freischaffender Choreograf. Er erhielt zahlreiche Auszeichnungen für seine Choreografien. Seine Stücke finden sich im Repertoire namhafter Companien, u.a. des Nederlands Dans Theater, Compania Nacional de Danza, Hubbard Street Dance Chicago, Luzerner Tanz Theater, Ballet BC, Hamburg Ballet, Atlanta Ballet, Ballet Hispánico und Luna Negra Dance Theater.

Akram Khans KAASH ist ein ebenso schönes wie rasantes Stück, das auf wunderbare Weise indischen und zeitgenössischen Tanz verbindet. Mit stampfenden Ausfallschritten, schnellen Drehungen und weit schwingenden Röcken erobern die Tänzer den Raum. Jede Finger-, Arm- und Kopfbewegung lässt mythologische Bilder entstehen, die durch zeitgenössische Tanzelemente immer wieder ins Heute geholt werden. KAASH verführt mit einer perfekten Fusion aus klassischem Kathak und zeitgenössischem Tanz.

Akram Khan wurde in London als Sohn aus Bangladesch stammender Eltern geboren. Mittelpunkt seiner Arbeit ist der Versuch, eine Brücke zwischen Zeitgenössischem Tanz und der klassischen indischen Tanzform Kathak zu schlagen. Sein kreatives Hauptaugenmerk liegt auf jenen strukturellen und mathematischen Elementen, die jeder dieser Tanzstile beinhaltet. Die neue, innovative Bewegungssprache, die sich aus dieser Verbindung entwickelt, beschreibt Akram Khan als zeitgenössischen Kathak. Khan ist einer der gefeiertsten und anerkanntesten Künstler unserer Zeit. In den letzten zwei Jahrzehnten hat er ein Gesamtwerk geschaffen, das einen bedeutenden Beitrag zur Kunstwelt des Vereinigten Königreichs und darüber hinaus darstellt.

www.institutdelteatre.cat/

Show more