23. January 2024

B.Dance

FLOATING FLOWERS

B.Dance [Taipeh / Taiwan]

Choreografie: Po-Cheng Tsai | Bühne & Licht: Otto Chang | Musikkomposition: Rockid Lee

8 Tänzerinnen & Tänzer

 

Dates & Tickets

FLOATING FLOWERS is inspired by a traditional Taiwanese religious celebration that takes place at the Ghost Festival, one of the most beautiful and popular Buddhist ceremonies in the country. Floating lanterns placed on water are meant to worship deities, to send away bad luck and bring happiness. They are also intended to convey wishes and pay tribute to the deceased.

In Po-Cheng Tsai’s childhood, it was tradition for his father to take him to the festival to write his wishes on the lanterns, to set them adrift and to watch them being carried away by the flow of the river. Since his father’s passing, Tsai lost faith in the ritual of his childhood, but was inspired to create FLOATING FLOWERS to honour his father and free himself from memories that haunted him.

He thus proposes a refreshing and optimistic piece where the dancers, wrapped in vaporous muslin, seem to float gracefully above the water.

Taiwanese choreographer Po-Cheng Tsai graduated from Taipei National University of Arts in 2009. Following his education, he founded B.DANCE and established his unique choreographic language and aesthetic. By combining traditional Asian movements and martial arts with contemporary dance, B.DANCE offers theatrical, physical, and emotional performances that are approachable and inspiring for diverse audiences.

Several times awarded in international choreographic competitions, Po-Cheng Tsai has also choreographed for renowned dance companies such as Introdans, Tanz Luzerner Theatre, Gauthier Dance, Cloud Gate 2, Bern Tanzcompagnie and La Veronal.

The Taiwanese choreographer develops a unique choreographic language and style that combines traditional Asian movements, martial arts and contemporary dance. He pushes the boundaries to achieve an aesthetic that incorporates oriental mysticism and fantasy into theatrical, physical and moving plays that are accessible and inspiring to all audiences. Po-Cheng Tsai was awarded Choreographer of the Year 2018 by the German magazine Tanz. In 2019, B.DANCE received the Mervyn Stutter  »Spirit of the Fringe« Award at the Edinburgh Festival Fringe.

bdance.com.tw

Show more

23. Januar 2024

B.Dance

FLOATING FLOWERS

B.Dance [Taipeh / Taiwan]

Choreografie: Po-Cheng Tsai | Bühne & Licht: Otto Chang | Musikkomposition: Rockid Lee

8 Tänzerinnen & Tänzer

 

Termine & Karten

FLOATING FLOWERS ist vom Ghost Festival inspiriert, einer traditionellen religiösen Feierlichkeit aus Taiwan, die eine der schönsten und populärsten buddhistischen Zeremonien des Landes ist. Die auf dem Wasser schwimmenden Lampions dienen zur Anbetung der Gottheiten, zur Vertreibung von Unglück und sind segenbringend. Ebenso überbringen sie den Verstorbenen gute Wünsche und die Ehrerbietung der Lebenden.

Für Po-Cheng Tsai war es eine Tradition, mit seinem Vater zum Fest zu gehen und seine Wünsche auf die Lampions zu schreiben, denen er beim Hinwegtreiben auf dem Fluss zusah.  Nach dem Tod seines Vaters hat Tsai den Glauben an die Rituale seiner Kindheit verloren, aber in der Erkenntnis, wie vergänglich und wankelmütig das Leben sein kann, inszeniert er Floating Flowers zu Ehren seines Vaters, und auch, um sich von den Erinnerungen zu befreien, die ihn immer wieder einholen.

Auf diese Art legt er ein erfrischendes Stück voller Optimismus vor, in dem die in hauchdünne Musseline gehüllten Tänzerinnen und Tänzer mit Anmut über das Wasser zu schweben scheinen.

Der taiwanesische Choreograf Po-Cheng Tsai schloss 2009 sein Studium an der Taipei National University of Arts ab. Im Anschluss an seine Ausbildung gründete er B.DANCE und etablierte seine einzigartige choreografische Sprache und Ästhetik. Durch die Kombination traditioneller asiatischer Bewegungen und Kampfkünste mit zeitgenössischem Tanz bietet B.DANCE theatralische, physische und emotionale Aufführungen.

Po-Cheng Tsai wurde mehrfach bei internationalen Choreografiewettbewerben ausgezeichnet und choreografierte für renommierte Tanzcompanien wie Introdans, Tanz Luzerner Theater, Gauthier Dance, Cloud Gate 2, Bern Tanzcompagnie und La Veronal.

Der taiwanesische Choreograf entwickelt eine einzigartige choreografische Sprache und einen Stil, der traditionelle asiatische Bewegungen, Kampfkunst und zeitgenössischen Tanz miteinander verbindet. Er überschreitet die Grenzen, um eine Ästhetik zu erreichen, die orientalische Mystik und Fantasie in theatralische, körperliche und bewegende Stücke einbezieht, die für alle Zuschauer zugänglich und inspirierend sind. Po-Cheng Tsai wurde vom deutschen Magazin Tanz als Choreograf des Jahres 2018 ausgezeichnet. Im Jahr 2019 erhielt B.DANCE den Mervyn Stutter  » Spirit of the Fringe« Award beim Edinburgh Festival Fringe.

 

bdance.com.tw

Show more