4. January 2023

DER PROZESS

Prague National Ballet (Czech Republic)

Choreography & Costumes : Mauro Bigonzetti (after Franz Kafka’s novel)
Music: Antonio Bononcini / Dietrich Buxtehude / Henryk Górecki / Carlo Gesualdo / Tarquinio Merula / Claudio Monteverdi / Modest Petrovich Mussorgsky
Scenery & Video: Carlo Cerri

30 Dancers

Dates & Tickets

Filip Barankiewicz, former solo dancer at the Stuttgart Ballet, has had since 2017 much success at the head of the Prague National Ballet, a company which boasts 80 dancers. With Mauro Bigonzetti’s choreography of THE TRIAL, taken from Franz Kafka’s 1914 novel, the Prague National Theater’s Ballet Company in the Bonn Opera House shows how important its contribution is to the development of dance in Europe and in the world.

Kafkas’s unfinished, claustrophobic novel “The Trial” is one of the great literary works of the 20th Century. In his adaptation for the stage, the world renowned choreographer, who was born in Rome, chose Italian baroque music as well as works from the 20th Century, along with a piece by Mussorgsky. Next to two movements from Henryk Górecki’s Third Symphony (“The Symphony of Sorrowful Songs”) works are juxtaposed by Dietrich Buxtehude, Tarquinio Merula, Antonio Bononcini, Carlo Gesualdo, Claudio Monteverdi und Modest Mussorgsky.

The individual is at the center of Bigonzetti’s THE TRIAL, as embodied by Josef K., who unwittingly gets caught up in the workings of an arbitrary burocratic system. Stigmatized after he is arrested, he tries in vain to attract people’s attention and gain their support. K. feels himself increasingly subjugated to an anonymous power, until his ability to resist is worn down and he decides to take his life. Bigonzetti’s involvement with Kafka’s work started at an early age. Orson Welles’ filming of the novel made a strong impression on Bigonzetti in his youth, and ever since, the images of the film have been ingrained in his head. Social contact in society today has become less and less binding. Kafka’s K. gradually loses completely what little sense of human relations he has. This absence of relationships makes K. deeply insecure. He moves without orientation along a fine line of isolation which winds up leading to a loss of self. (Bigonzetti)

The internationally successful choreographer Mauro Bigonzetti (born in 1960) completed his dance training at the Rome Opera, where he was in its dance company from 1972 to 1983. In 1984 he joined the Aterballetto in Reggio Emilia. For ten years he was a member of the famous dance company until he decided to dedicate all his time to choreography. From 1997 to 2007 he was the artistic director of the Aterballetto. The top Italian dance company has often performed his works at the Opera House in Bonn. After 2007, he worked as a freelancing choreographer. In 2016 he became the head of the Teatro alla Scala Ballet Company. Bigonzetti has presented his choreographies at numerous dance companies around the world, among others, the Alvin Ailey Dance Theatre, the New York City Ballet, Les Grands Ballets Canadiens, the Staatsballett Berlin, the Stuttgart Ballet und the Gauthier Dance Company. THE TRIAL was commissioned for the Ballet at the Staatsoper in Hanover, and it premiered there in 2015. The literary work that inspired it is without doubt a product of the Prague literary milieu, a part of Czech-German literary history, and is closely bound to the city of Prague.

www.narodni-divadlo.cz/cs/soubory/balet

Show more

Dates and Tickets

4. Januar 2023

DER PROZESS

Ballett des Nationaltheaters Prag (Tschechische Republik)

Choreografie & Kostüme: Mauro Bigonzetti (nach dem Roman von Franz Kafka)
Musik: Antonio Bononcini / Dietrich Buxtehude / Henryk Górecki / Carlo Gesualdo / Tarquinio Merula / Claudio Monteverdi / Modest Petrovich Mussorgsky
Bühne & Video: Carlo Cerri

30 Tänzerinnen und Tänzer

Termine & Karten

Filip Barankiewicz, ehemals Erster Solist des Stuttgarter Balletts, leitet überaus erfolgreich seit 2017 das 80 Tänzerinnen und Tänzer große Prager Nationalballett. Mit Mauro Bigonzettis Choreografie DER PROZESS nach Franz Kafkas Roman von 1914 zeigt das Ballettensemble des Nationaltheaters Prag im Bonner Opernhaus seine Bedeutung für die Entwicklung des Tanzes in Europa und der Welt.

Kafkas unvollendet gebliebener, beklemmender Roman „Der Proceß“ zählt zu den großen literarischen Werken des 20. Jahrhunderts. Für seine Übertragung auf die Tanzbühne hat der weltberühmte Choreograf und gebürtige Römer Mauro Bigonzetti italienische Barockmusik sowie Musik des 20. Jahrhunderts gewählt, ergänzt um ein Stück von Mussorgsky. Neben zwei Sätzen aus Henryk Góreckis 3. Sinfonie („Sinfonie der Klagelieder“) erklingen Stücke von Dietrich Buxtehude, Tarquinio Merula, Antonio Bononcini, Carlo Gesualdo, Claudio Monteverdi und Modest Mussorgsky.

Im Zentrum von Bigonzettis DER PROZESS steht das Individuum, repräsentiert durch Josef K., der unbescholten in die Mühlen eines willkürlichen Apparats gerät. Durch seine Verhaftung stigmatisiert, sucht K. vergeblich nach echter Zuwendung und menschlicher Unterstützung. Mehr und mehr fühlt K. sich einer anonymen Macht ausgeliefert, bis seine Widerstandskraft schließlich aufgerieben ist und er sich in den Tod ergibt. Bigonzettis Recherche zu Kafkas Werk begann sehr früh. Schon in jungen Jahren hat ihn die Verfilmung von Orson Welles stark beeindruckt, und seitdem lässt ihn der Sog dieser Bilder nicht mehr los. Soziale Kontakte verlieren in unserer heutigen Gesellschaft zunehmend an Verbindlichkeit. Auch Kafkas Herr K. verliert seine wenigen menschlichen Bezüge nach und nach vollends. Diese Beziehungslosigkeit führt K. in eine tiefe Verunsicherung. Er bewegt sich auf dem schmalen Grat der Vereinzelung in eine Orientierungslosigkeit, die schließlich im Selbstverlust mündet. (Bigonzetti) 

Der international erfolgreiche Choreograf Mauro Bigonzetti (geb. 1960) absolvierte seine Tanzausbildung an der Römischen Oper, der er auch von 1972 bis 1983 als Tänzer angehörte. 1984 ging er nach Reggio Emilia zu Aterballetto. Zehn Jahre lang war er Mitglied des renommierten Tanzensembles, bis er sich schließlich ganz seiner Tätigkeit als Choreograf widmete. Von 1997 bis 2007 fungierte er als Künstlerischer Leiter des Aterballetto. Mit dem italienischen Spitzenensemble war Bigonzetti mehrfach bei den Highlights im Bonner Opernhaus zu Gast. Anschließend arbeitete er wieder als freischaffender Choreograf. 2016 leitete er das Corpo di Ballo del Teatro alla Scala, die Ballettkompanie der Mailänder Scala. Mauro Bigonzetti studierte seine Werke mit zahlreichen Compagnien weltweit ein, darunter das Alvin Ailey Dance Theatre, das New York City Ballet, Les Grands Ballets Canadiens, das Staatsballett Berlin, das Stuttgarter Ballett und die Gauthier Dance Company. DER PROZESS war eine Auftragsarbeit für das Ballett der Staatsoper Hannover, die dort auch 2015 uraufgeführt wurde. Die literarische Vorlage ist aber eine unbestreitbare Facette des Prager Milieus, ein Teil tschechisch-deutscher Literaturgeschichte und untrennbar mit der Stadt Prag verbunden.

www.narodni-divadlo.cz/cs/soubory/balet

Show more

Termine und Karten